top of page
The Long Way Home

by Michael J McEvoy

The Long Way Home_Cvr Art.jpg
Participating Artists


Michael J McEvoy, Jason Rebello: piano
Nigel Hitchcock: alto saxophone
Ben Castle: tenor saxophone
Gerard Presencer: trumpet & flugelhorn
Mark Nightingale: trombone
Calum Gourlay, Tom Farmer: bass
Dave Hamblett, James Maddren: drums

Technical Information


Release type: Vinyl, Digital download, CD
Release date: 10 March 2014
Cat. No: REZZ001
Cat. No (LP): REZZ-LP08
Cat. No (CD): REZZ-CD009

Drawing on a lifetime’s experience of working as sideman to some of the great names of soul jazz and as a composer for film and TV, Michael J McEvoy has finally found his way home to his love of jazz. These two strands to his career have meant he has been able to call upon the services of a stellar cast of UK jazz musicians to play a series of original pieces that spread their wings beyond the normal forms and references found on many jazz releases.


The sketches at the root of these compositions have grown in mood and tone, becoming immensely satisfying on the ear whilst retaining a solid groove. It may have been a long way home, but McEvoy has arrived.

Link to Bandcamp:

bottom of page