top of page
The Jazz Ambassadors

by Michael J McEvoy

Participating Artists


Michael J McEvoy (piano)
Paul Booth (sax, clarinet)
Patrick Clahar (sax)
Dennis Rollins (tenor trombone)
Karl Rasheed Abel (bass)
Mark Mondesir (drums)
Fayyaz Virji (bass trombone)
Kevin Robinson (trumpet)
Freddie Gavita (trumpet, flugelhorn)

Additional session musicians:
Tom Walsh (trumpet)
Graeme Blevins (sax)
Jane Fenton (cello)

Technical Information


Release type: Digital streaming & download
Release date: 25 November 2018

Rezzonator Music is delighted to announce the release of the original music score to the award-winning The Jazz Ambassadors documentary. Available to download on all digital platforms and streaming via Apple Music and Spotify.

A WNPT Thirteen (PBS)/BBC/ZDF/Arte co-production, The Jazz Ambassadors tells the extraordinary story of America’s plan to win hearts around the world and counter the Cold War with the USSR in 1956 with the help of a legendary group of US jazz musicians. Sent on diplomatic missions abroad, Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Dizzy Gillespie, Dave Brubeck and Benny Goodman became ‘America’s coolest weapon in The Cold War’ and at the same time won the Civil Rights’ movement a voice on the world stage when it needed one most.

Link to the PBS website about the film:

Click here to download the press release

bottom of page